you're reading...
Android, How to ?, Internet, Mobile

How to use your android mobile phone as a modem?

When I am at home or office, connecting to internet is not issue. However, if  I am outside or travelling and if I want to connect to internet from my laptop, IPad or any mobile device, I had to find a WiFi hotspot. But now a days with all these advancements in mobile communication, connecting to internet using the smart phone is very simple.

In this post I will show you how to use an android smartphone as a modem.

All you need is a data pack enabled on your mobile connection. I have the 3G data pack enabled on my cell phone.

There are two ways of connecting to internet.

Below are the steps:

Using your cellphone as a WiFi router.

  1. In your android smart phone, go to Settings -> Wireless and Network Settings -> Mobile networks and select the “Use packet data” option. Also uncheck the “Use only 2G Networks” option
  2. Again go to Settings ->Wireless and Network Settings->Tethering and portable hotspots
  3. Select the second option “Mobile AP”. You should see a blue wifi icon in your cellphone notification bar
  4. Go to your laptop, IPad or any device which supports WiFi, search for available wireless networks and select “Android AP”  option.
  5. You are now connected to the internet. Just open a browser and start browsing.

Note: You can configure your Mobile AP setting to give a different name and also making the connection secure. For this you have to select the “Mobile AP settings” option under “Tethering and portable hotspots”

Connect using USB cable (USB Tethering)

  1. Connect your android smartphone to the laptop using the USB data cable.
  2. Make sure the phone’s drivers are installed properly. In most cases, windows will automatically recognize and install the drivers automatically. If it does not, then use the CD which is given along with the cellphone.
  3. In your android smart phone, go to Settings -> Wireless and Network Settings -> Mobile networks and select the “Use packet data” option. Also uncheck the “Use only 2G Networks” option.
  4. Again go to Settings ->Wireless and Network Settings->Tethering and portable hotspots
  5. Select the “USB tethering” option and you should see a blue circle icon in the notification bar. See the below picture.
  6. You are now connected to the internet. Just open a browser and start browsing.

Note : I have tested this on Windows PC and Laptops only

About Shree

Software Programmer by profession

Discussion

18 thoughts on “How to use your android mobile phone as a modem?

  1. Can Mobile AP be used with a 2.5G/ Edge connection?

    Thanks.

    Posted by Max | June 9, 2012, 5:34 pm
  2. Hello, i know how to connect to my android but why i can not browse using firefox?

    Posted by Florent | July 9, 2012, 3:57 am
  3. I cannot find the settings on my mobile. My mobile is Micromax Ninja A87. Can some one help me how to solve the problem.
    Settings I couldn’t find are:
    1.User Package Data [There are 3 options namely (i)Data Enabled (ii) Wap Push Enabled (iii)Data Roaming]
    2. “Use only 2G Networks” option is not found.
    PLEASE SOMEONE HELP ME.

    Posted by Moda Sai | December 16, 2012, 9:18 am
  4. I have a Samsung galaxy proclaim phone that I would like to use as my modem. I can not find :t“Use only 2G Networks” option or Tethering and portable hotspots. Can you help?

    Posted by Ann | January 4, 2013, 1:15 am
  5. I have a galaxy s showcase., I got the tethering to work and my pc recognizes new hardware’but then it says device failed drivers not recognized. I’ve been reading some on how to do this. Saying I need the software that came with the phone. Well. I never got no software when I bought this phone. Now what can I do?

    Posted by Jason Sisney | January 11, 2013, 10:00 pm
  6. Broo….i m usin samsung galaxy ace android…i dont have the mobile ap option..i have the wi fi hotspot option in the place of wi fi..what to do??

    Posted by abid | February 4, 2013, 4:12 pm
    • Use that option itself. There should be a checkbox, select that and the hotspot should be active.

      Posted by Shree | February 6, 2013, 8:06 pm
      • i have samsung galaxy aceIIitried all above but could not get internet on pc using allsbovr steps.

        samsung should not keep such issued pending. else popularity may go down.

        Posted by M.P.Bhide | June 23, 2013, 9:33 am
  7. thank u

    Posted by P Jenamsni | March 31, 2013, 6:56 am
  8. I have been trying to tether my Samsung Wave to my new Samsung Galaxy Tablet but Wave says unable to use Packet Data yet it is activated..have phoned my provider, my phone company, my ex phone company (telstra) because i feared their branding on the phone was monopolizing the new carrier or blocking…so frustrating…..4g of internet going to waste. Can you help?

    Posted by Sue | April 24, 2013, 2:20 pm
  9. I like the explanation you have given thanks

    Posted by Emmanuel Nartey | July 12, 2013, 7:39 pm

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Top Ten Android Tips and Tricks « The Lunch Talk - April 20, 2012

  2. Pingback: How to use your android mobile phone as a modem? | Miss Android 101 - April 9, 2013

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 75,150 Views

Top Rated

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 13 other followers

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

